Welcome to Northern Brewer

– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

Malt Based "Hard Cider"

Moderator: Global Moderators

<<

magicdave

Post Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:25 am

Malt Based "Hard Cider"

I have a batch of cider brewing that is malt based. When it is done I will share the recipe with everyone. I will let you know that I used NB White Sorghum Extract as the base. I suppose you could say that this adventure in brewing is really making Apple Beer. It is not quite ready for the secondary fermentation but I did "steal" a taste and it is right on the money as far as my sensibilities are concerned. I am not one to attempt to copy a commercial hard cider since I have never had one that didn't taste like crap. I have been doing various versions of hard cider for 40 years or so and I like to keep a strong apple taste and the alcohol content is also quite high.
<<

Myaj

Post Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:26 am

I like that idea! I have some DME, I might play with it a little if I get time this weekend. Thanks for mentioning your experiment!
<<

magicdave

Post Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:49 pm