Welcome to Northern Brewer

– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

How to double a wine recipe?

Moderator: Global Moderators

<<

theretrofit

Post Wed May 26, 2010 9:05 am

How to double a wine recipe?

I'm new to wine making and new to this forum. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Most if not all recipes I have found are for single one gallon batches. How can I double a recipe? Below is one I found for plum wine that I want to double. How do I it? Thanks again for the help!

-------------

Versatile Plum Wine Recipe
(per gallon recipe, adjust as needed)

You can use these recipes for any plum-type fruit -- home grown or store bought; Italian, Damson, Yellow, Greenage, or any sweet plum. With wild plums, which are generally high in acid, use acid tester or cut down to 3 lbs. per gallon.

4 lb Plums, pitted
6 pts Water
2 lb Sugar
1/2 tsp Acid Blend
1/2 tsp Pectic Enzyme
1 tsp Nutrient
1 Campden, crush
1 pkg Wine yeast

Wash, drain and remove stones. Chop into smaller pieces.
Put in nylon straining bag, crush and squeeze juice into primary
fermentor. Keeping pulp in bag, tie top, and place in primary.
Stir in all other ingredients EXCEPT yeast. Cover primary.
After 24 hrs., add yeast and cover primary.
Stir daily, check Specific Gravity, and press pulp lightly to aid extraction.
When ferment reaches S.G. 1.040 (3-5 days) squeeze juice lightly from bag.
Siphon wine off sediment into glass secondary and attach air lock.
When fermenting is complete (S.G. has dropped to 1.000 -- about 3 weeks) siphon off sediment into clean secondary and reattach air lock.
To aid clearing siphon again in 2 months and again if necessary before bottling.

To sweeten wine, at bottling add 2 tsp. stabilizer, then stir in 1/4 to 1/2 lb. dissolved sugar per gallon.
<<

cmorse

Apprentice Brewer

Post Wed May 26, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: How to double a wine recipe?

Double all the ingredients except the yeast. Also don't double the times or S.G. readings.
<<

Baratone Brewer

Master Brewer