– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

Building a brew stand; angle iron

Moderator: Global Moderators

<<

atl_sud

Master Brewer

Post Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:14 pm

Building a brew stand; angle iron

I'm thinking of building a brew stand out of perforated angle iron from McMaster Carr. I don't weld or know anyone who does so I was thinking of bolting the pieces together.

The 1 1/4" leg length is 3/64" thick, is this strong enough to hold a 10 gallon system with sankeys?

Anything I should consider before ordering up all the parts?

Anyone build one out of perforated angle iron that could provide some tips?

Thanks,
T
<<

srhspaded

Apprentice Brewer

Post Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:10 pm

Re: Building a brew stand; angle iron

I am a welder and metal fabricator and although I haven't used perforated angle iron for anything other than shelving, I'll go ahead and give my opinion. I would think that 3/64"x 1 1/4"x 1 1/4" angle iron perforated would NOT be a good idea for something like a ten gallon system. You are talking about at the very least 1 to 2 hundred pounds on this and I just don't see how it would hold up. If you don't have access to a welder, you could try using 1/8" x 2" x 2" solid angle iron. You would need to be able to cut and drill bolt holes and I would still think you should use some solid 1/8" to 1/4" gussets in high stress areas. Dumping 10 gallons of boiling hot liquid on your legs or worse on your chest can be deadly if not extremely painful. I would really recommend making some plans and taking them to your local welding fabrication shops and talking to them and get a price quote but if you go the bolt together way use some good bolts with a high shear strength, no 1/4" 20 bolts galvanized dipped. It is better to err on the side of over engineering because you are talking about a lot of weight, boiling liquids, propane tanks and burners...its just a recipe for disaster if something goes wrong.