Welcome to Northern Brewer

– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

pitching extra yeast vs. a yeast starter

Moderator: Global Moderators

<<

allanmac

Post Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:28 pm

pitching extra yeast vs. a yeast starter

Would pitching 2 vials of white labs to a high gravity beer get the same desired effect as using one vial via a yeast starter? I'm making a double ipa, and since I have no experience with starters, I'm considering just pitching two vials. Beside $ would there be any difference?
<<

WALDO

Master Brewer

Post Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:36 pm

There is a small initial investment in starters. But in the end it will save you money and you will have a boat load more yeast with a starter than you will get with two vials of pitchable yeast. Starters are easy and really don't take very long. Go with a starter.
<<

PJ

Post Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:44 pm

I agree with WALDO. Making a starter is easier than you think. A growler is a perfect fermenting vessel for a yeast starter. Here's how easy it is.

1. Add 2 pints of water and 1 cup of light DME to a medium saucepan, heat to boiling, hold for 15 minutes
2. While this mini batch of beer is boiling, sanitize a growler, rubber stopper, airlock, your yeast package, scissors if using Wyeast smack pack, etc.
3. Cover and cool the wort in your sink with some cold water and ice.
4. Pour the wort into the growler, add yeast, shake it to aerate
5. Attach the rubber stopper and airlock

That's it. If you're gonna make beer, you should just get used to making starters. It's easy, takes very little time and always ensures you're pitching a good amount of yeast.
<<

fricka

Post Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:46 pm

Making a 500mL to 1L starter with one vial will/would give you much more than double the yeast in a day or two. Pitching two vials is better for a 1.070+ brew than just using one, but won't give the punch you'd get from making a medium-sized starter.