Welcome to Northern Brewer

– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

1 Step vs Star San

<<

paultuttle

Master Brewer

Post Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:17 am

1 Step vs Star San

I've been brewing now for 4 years, and the only sanitizer I've ever used is 1 Step. This is primarily due to my local HBS here carried only that. Until recently. Now, he's started carrying Star San, and I asked him if I should start using that, and he told me I should stay with the 1 Step, since it also cleans. Every You Tube video I've watched, the brewer uses Star San. Am I missing something? I've neer had an issue with any of my beers.

Paul
<<

muddywater_grant

Master Brewer

Post Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:19 am

Re: 1 Step vs Star San

I use pbw for cleaning and star san for a sanitizer. Couldn't be more happy with the two problems.
P: Red Rye 1, Red Rye 2, Wee Heavy, Wee Heavy Partigyle Porter, Kolsch, German Pils, Premium Bitter 1, Premium Bitter 2, Barley wine

On Tap: Mosaic Imperial Red, Zythos Brown, Session IPA 2, Session IPA 1

On deck: American Wheat?
<<

Vulkin'

Master Brewer

Post Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:25 am

Never used 1step but can you leave it inside the fermentor and just drop your wort in with the foam (the much heard "don't fear the foam"). To me that is the great thing abput Starsan. You can keep things sanitized and saoked with the stuff right up to the second you use it. Also I have relativly hard water and still this stuff lasts forever. I just pH test every time I go to use. It has yet to rise above the 2 range. Eventually my Starsan buckets get this fine sediment in the bottom and I rinse and dump that everytime I use it as well and can roll on with the rest of it. That one fact is a huge cost savings.

Barry
On Tap at Neck Deep Brewing - 8 Taps Rotating
<<

Vulkin'

Master Brewer

Post Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:26 am

BTW I make my own PBW out of Oxiclean and TSP. Works like a charm and very cheap.
<<

paultuttle

Master Brewer

Post Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:17 am