To Much Vodka in Airlock?

Ok, this is my first batch and I’ll admit I’m a rookie to all of the little nuances of home brewing. I have the s-shaped airlock on my fermentation bucket. I noticed that I am an 1/8" over the max fill mark evenly distributed between the two locks.
It’s been ~40 hours into fermentation. I’m sitting at 72F and the batch is a pale ale. I haven’t noticed any bubbles and can only assume we are early in the process and/or the pressures in the bucket are you taking the path of least resistance. As the process moves on I’m concerned that the gases trying to escape may find the pressure in the airlock to much resulting in some blow out around the lid.
Am I just rookie-worrying?
Thanks in advance.

[quote=“olanwade, post:1, topic:27119, full:true”]Am I just rookie-worrying?
Thanks in advance.
[/quote]

Yes you are. But big step is that you recognize it! :joy:

First, welcome to the forum. Great people here with great advice.

Second, buckets are notorious for leaking around the lid seal. You can take a flashlight and shine it through the back of the bucket and check if you can see a Krausen ring. As the yeast ferments it will create a puffy pillowy head that will leave a ring on your fermenter (krausen). If you can’t see pop the top and check it out. It will be fine for the amount of time you need to look.

2 Likes

When using a bucket I will often tap the lid at the edge with a rubber mallet our firmly with the heel of my palm. This will help it seal better. Welcome to the hobby. OH and to answer your question you can’t have too much liquid in the air lock, it will blow out any surplus.

1 Like

A big welcome to this forum… 18 plus years brewing, I’ve never used anything but plain old tap water in my air lockers… You’re more likely to get an infection due to poor cleaning/sanitizing… Tell us about what your doing now, and whats coming up… Sneezles61