Third extract brew Belgian Tripel

Well I was very happy with my first brew( chinook iPa), my second brew, the Bavarian Heffe is going into bottles tomorrow. So now my son wants the Belgian Tripel. It will be an extract kit as I am still far from doing all- grains.

I noticed this Belgian recommends a yeast starter. I have no experience ( yet) with starters. I notice NB has cans of starter. Do I just add the recommended starter along with the yeast packet? I have been using dry yeast packets.

Thanks for any insight!

Tom

Yes and no. You can buy the canned starter wort but still want to oxygenate it. I’ve been using the “shaken not stirred method” with great success. This just means that you prepare your wort and put it in a jug. Shake it until it’s completely foam, and then pitch the yeast. You want to pitch this at high krausen so prepare this about 12 hours before brewing.

If you’re using dry yeast, just buy a second package. Easier than a starter. No chance of infection. More yeast.

I believe that’s a win-win-win situation.

Plus, dry yeast is prepared with nutrients in reserve. Making a starter with dry yeast depletes the yeast of these nutrients.

1 Like

It’s complicated.

First off, I love canned starter. Dirt simple and quick. Sanitize a jug, the top of the can, your yeast packet. Dump contents of can into jug. Fill can with water, dump into jug. Shake, add yeast, done. I do this all the time with liquid yeast.

Dry yeast, though, folks say not to do a starter with. Something to do with the fact that its designed to direct pitch, and a starter hurts its reserves. It’s easy enough to just do 2 packets of dry.

Maybe a middle ground could be to rehydrate the dry before adding to the starter. I personally don’t do dry yeast, so definitely wait for other opinions on this.

Thank you for the help, I agree …just buy 2 dry yeast packets and be done with it.

I am still reading my joy of home brewing book to hopefully get more of a feel for all these variables.