Stout ingredients

Good afternoon fellow brewers. I am fairly new to brewing, I have about 4 batches under my belt. However I never done a porter/stout style beer, I did came across some grains and I need some help coming up with a 3 gallon recipe.

9 pound of Maris Otter
1 pound of Dark Wheat Malt
1 pound of Chocolate Malt (350SRM)
1 pound of Crystal Malt (120SRM)

Thank you in advance

You could make that into a 3 gallon stout as-is, but it’ll be on the strong side. How much alcohol do you want in it? Is there a commercial stout that you want to match?

Hey thank you for your quick reply. I honestly like stouts strong in alcohol and creamy. Doing some search I came across a recipe similar to what i have , but it had roasted barley. I also found a bag of 1 pound lactose maybe I can add half a pound? to make it a sweet stout. What you recommend?

I personally would only add 1/2 lb of the lactose in a stout, especially without any roasted barley in it. The amount of malt you have in this recipe for a 3 gallon batch borders on making this an Imperial Stout. It’s going to be fairly strong if your efficiency is good.

Thank you for you input. I too was only thinking of using half a pound 15 min before end of boil. What whould be the different adding roasted barley? I understanding roasted barley its kind of a guideline to making a stouts , but which of my ingredients listed would roasted barley be taking place of? dark wheat maybe? only asking for future reference.