Storing yeast

How long can I store yeast for in my fridge? I have a package of Wyeast 1272 American Ale II.

You can store it for quite a while. The yeast will lose viability even being stored cool in the frig. A starter is almost always needed for liquid yeast. The older the yeast the larger the starter or even a two step starter depending upon the OG of the beer being brewed.

This is the starter/pitch rate calculator I like to use. Put some numbers in based on the packaging date of the yeast and different OG beers to see how it works. When starting with fresh yeast you can overbuild a starter and save a portion of it to have yeast that has not undergone the stress of a fermentation to have fresh yeast for your next starter. This calculator has an over build option built in.

Thanks flars. I’ve never done a starter before, so this will be interesting lol. I’m a noobie. Only have brewed 5 batches so far. My next one will be Friday. A 5 gal pale ale. I wanted something more sessionable for the summer.

I have 2 liter Erlenmeyer flasks for starters and 1.5 gallon pickle jars also. Some use a flask to boil the starter wort on the stove top. Almost inviting a volcanic boil over due to the shape of the flask. I boil the water for the starter wort in a kettle. the boiling is to sanitize the kettle. Remove the kettle from the heat and stir in the DME. You can use a stir plate to keep the yeast in suspension for the starter or use the “shaken not stirred” method for growing yeast cells.

I have a collection of yeast in mason jars in the fridge. I too make a starter to insure more viable cells. Before I began making starters I would just repitch harvested yeast and I had success with year old yeast but it was slow to take off.

Same here, I’ve used yeast that’s been in the fridge for over a year. Online yeast calculators will tell you that the yeast has 0% viability, but start small and you can usually coax it back to life. But best not to let to go that long.