Starting with the "Right" equipment

Good evening Brewers

I apologize if this is not in the right forum.

I would like to begin brewing. Zero experience, huge appetite for quality beers.

If you were to start over again from when you first started brewing what equipment and supplies would you have started with?

I would rather start with the right stuff and not just cheap get your foot in the door stuff.

Cost is not a huge issue as id like my investment to repay me with quality brews.

Thank in advance.

Dano

Can you give us an idea of budget? I started brewing with $50 worth of equipment, but I have a friend who went all out and bought a pretty legit system for around $2k.

If you listen to nothing else: Invest in temp control, which allows you to regulate the temperature of fermentation. You will be ahead of 70% of homebrewers and you will get quality BEER (not “homebrew”) as a result!

Welcome to the obsession, you are already off to a great start!

1 Like

Thanks Pietro for the quick response.

I was thinking an initial investment of 4-500 on equipment to get first couple batches pouring.

Thanks

Temp control, yes. A small fridge with a digital controller works. Plan for all grain, even if starting with extract. So a big kettle, and either an electric setup or an outdoor propane burner. You’ll want a wort chiller. Maybe a keg setup?

That being said, folks make really good beer with cheap and easy batch sparge coolers and turkey fryers. Think through every step in the process and figure out where you want to make your job easier.

based on my experiences, not in any priority:
good LP burner
ability to make yeast starters; stir plate recommended
large boil kettle, for full batch boiling, 9-10 gal for a 5 gal batch
aeration for the wort, O2 or one of those attachments for a drill (not sure what it is called)
fermentation temp control as the others recommended
accurate, quick responding digital thermometer
refractometer for gravity measurements