Slow start with Danstar BRY-97 West Coast

Don’t know if this is a problem for me or not or if I should have re-pitched with a different yeast. I brewed Saturday using NB SMASH ale extract kit. It came with the Danstar BRY-97 dry yeast pack which I used. I have never used this yeast before so didn’t know what to expect. The brew session went well. Cooled the wort to 70 degrees in about 35 minutes and transferred to a carboy, put in cooler to drop temp some more. Rehydrated the yeast per Palmers instructions and pitched the yeast at 64 degrees wort temp. 24 hrs later on Sunday I did not see any activity in the airlock and no krausen forming. Got worried and did a little research and found that many have had the same problem with a slow start but others have had a fast aggressive start. The yeast was not old and had been refrigerated then set out 24 hrs before brew day. Decided to give it a little more time. This morning approximately 36 hrs into fermentation it has now formed a nice foamy krausen and seems to be on its way. So what should I have done? Leave it be like I did? Re-pitch? Just asking for future reference. I don’t know if the late start will cause issues with the beer results. Anyone else have issues with this yeast? If so what did you do?

I would have let it go as you did if I felt everything was done correctly with the yeast handling. Sometimes yeast doesn’t behave the way it is supposed to even though quick starts are possible above 63°F wort temperature according to Danstar. Take a look at Danstars’ data sheet for the yeast. Was there any differences in the rehydrating procedure in Palmers’ book and Danstars’ instructions?
http://www.danstaryeast.com/products