Single vessel brewing vs 3 vessel brewing

Was just reading the beer Smith newsletter about biab. When I started brewing it was pretty much all 3 vessel and then I started hearings about biab . At the time I was doing 10 gallon batches because of the effort it seamed more economical. I tried biab and found it so simple for 5 gallon batches I made the switch. Now it seems the majority do single vessel. Most of the stand alone brew systems are single vessel.
I wish I could figure out how to set up a poll

Dedicated BIAB single vessel here. Mainly due to space considerations originally, now just because I’m too lazy and cheap to change. Whatever works, shrugs.

It just seem to me that I could go big and not come home broke… If I had known back then about BIAB, I would’ve been a bit ahead of the money investment on equipment… BUT… isn’t this a living learning experience?
I don’t know many, if any that knew right from the git go they knew exactly where the trail ends…
The BIAB would be extremely hard for the big shooters… Gantry cranes… Monster grain mesh baskets… On and on…
Sneezles61

Three vessel here. Like the tradition and process…for now.

I use a 3 vessel because I need to keep my process as similar to the brewery as possible. Of course when I started it was all 3 vessel.

2 Likes

BIAB for me.

Me did think. Going biab as well for a while. But made the choice my new brew system. Is going to be 3 kettles. What i do now. Main choice. I do brew lots alone. And kind of hard to lift the grain basket. For 10 gallon batches. Unless i build some kind of hoisting crane

I have a rope hoist… The hardest part, is breaking the bond of the grist and the wort… Kinda thinking of an ATV winch… Once it’s drained a lot it’s not tough at all… I guess that’s when I rinse… When the basket is out of the wort and the temp is climbing… I’ve got a hose recirculating on top of the grist… Usually turn off that valve at about 170*…
Sneezles61