Sierra Madre not the same

Good morning,
I recently brewed a 5-gal batch of Sierra Madre. The brewing went fine. I’m still a novice and never used liquid yeast before. I had the yeast (Wyeast 1056) stored in the fridg for about a month I’d say. Never looked at the date on the package. The bottom line is it was dead. I had zero fermentation after 72 hrs. Temperature was 67 degrees. A local brewing supplier suggested to pitch a dry yeast (Safale us05). I had very good fermentation within 24 hrs. OG 1.052. FG 1.002. Bottled after about 3 weeks in fermentation.

Bottled and conditioned for two weeks. Tried one last night and was really disappointed. Not the same Sierra Madre I remember. It had almost no aroma whatsoever. Not sure how to describe the taste. Very little hop flavor, just kinda malty. Carbonation was perfect.

I assume I can’t expect the same results after a failed liquid yeast? Can anyone comment on this? Very other step in the brewing process was fine and right on according to the recipe.

Thank you for any thoughts!

Jeff

Bummer about your yeast. Wort sitting for 3 days is never good for flavor. I’d suggest continuing to try liquid yeast, but I’d get started on getting comfortable making starters. Takes the dead yeast variable off the table.

I don’t think the problem with the liquid yeast would have any effect on the finished beer. US-05 is the same yeast strain as WY 1056. Give the beer another two weeks of warm conditioning, then three days of chilling before tasting another one.
An IPA I brewed, Dead Ringer, did not start tasting good until about week five.

Edit, Before week five is was to carmelly with little hop flavor.

[quote=“flars”]I don’t think the problem with the liquid yeast would have any effect on the finished beer. US-05 is the same yeast strain as WY 1056. Give the beer another two weeks of warm conditioning, then three days of chilling before tasting another one.