Sanitizing Bottles

I am new to brewing and I am entering the final days prior to bottling. I just picked up two cases of bottles from my local homebrew store. I read that you could use a dishwasher to wash and sanitize, so I was planning on using that. Does anyone have any tips or pointers for when using the dishwasher?

I’ve done it with good results. My dishwasher has a sanitary cycle too. Just don’t have any “rinse agent” on board. It kills head retention.

My tip for using the dishwasher to sanitize is don’t do it.
A beer bottle is shaped much different than a water glass. The spray from the jets may not reach all parts of the bottle. Spot remover left over in the washer is also a head killer.
If you have dried gunk in the bottle this has to be removed first with a bottle brush. The brush attached to an electric drill saves a lot of labor.
If the bottles were well rinsed immediately after pouring, spraying or shaking with a solution of Starsan will sanitize the bottles.
The dish washer method has been done. Just my opinion that bottle care before bottling day saves a lot of work and worry.

Agreed! A dishwasher is not so effective in cleaning the junk out of a bottle. The rinse aid alone is reason not to use it. Get a 19 gallon Rubbermaid bucket from WallyWorld or use your laundry tub. Submerge all bottles in hot cleaning solution (PBW and water) then rinse and repeat with Iodophor solution.

I just got two cases of bottles today for bottling this weekend. So they are gunk free or should be. So ideally they should be fine the dishwasher, correct? I do appreciate the tips and pointers when it comes to me reusing bottles.

I just got two cases of bottles today for bottling this weekend. So they are gunk free or should be. So ideally they should be fine the dishwasher, correct? I do appreciate the tips and pointers when it comes to me reusing bottles.[/quote]Yes that is fine then. I would prefer soaking for a few minutes in solution but you’ll be fine.