New guy to Brewing

Hello All,

Just thought I would take a minute to say hello.
I finally jumped in with the great deal on the Brew. Share. Enjoy kit.

This next part might stir some people up a bit

I would like to figure out the right beer for me to brew, so let me give you a little background.
No flaming please but I have been drinking whatever light beer for the past 20 years or so.
I don’t think these beers are awesome but I certainly can’t stand to choke down the hoppy, bitter stuff that most folks around here consider “Good Beer” (I don’t even want to learn to like an IPA)

But then I tried a couple of craft beers that I really liked alot.
Sun King Cream Ale is really the beer that told me there is more out there and I have GOT to figure out how to make me some.
Sam Adams’ Cold Snap is the only beer of theirs that I can stand.
Shock Top is good - I catch hell for that since its made by AB and therefore must have no flavor - but I say as long as the flavor isn’t that charred toast lingering flavored “Craft Beer” that everyone loves to sit around and talk about.

So I bought some equipment and a Cream Ale Extract kit hoping for the best while being cautiously optimistic that something can come out of it that the wife and I will like (she will only drink Bud Light draft, not even canned)
I have been reading on here about some guys have made a vanilla cream ale. Sure its not true to the style but I realy don’t care about that I care about making something I like.

So my question/statement to you guys is…
What do you think about my quest?
I know I won’t have a cheap beer clone on my hands here and thats not what I am after.
This is a new venture where I want to learn to brew something that I like/ experience new things.
I can’t get the Sun King that I like in my area so I would really like to make something similar to that for now then try to play around with the creamy vanilla stuff later.

Cheers.
Greg

Welcome to the forum Greg.