New Brewer, just finished bottling

Hi! I just finished bottling my first 1 gallon batch, after allowing it to ferment in the carboy for 15 days. This was a tad messy (it took some adjustment for me to use the siphon) and I am seriously wishing I’d had a five gallon bucket with a spigot for this process, but live and learn. I will be traveling over the next couple weeks and wondered if it will be fine to let the brew sit at room temperature for another 15 days. At that point, do I just simply taste it and move it to the refrigerator? I’m new to all this and want to get the best flavor as possible. Thanks!

At least 15 days of waiting would be perfect. Room temperature.Three weeks will be even better. At that point take one of the bottles and put it in the refrigerator for 24 to 48 hours and then taste it to see if the rest are ready.

3 Likes

Make your own 1 gallon bottling bucket. A 1 gallon bucket, bottling wand, and spigot; a little effort to cut a hole and insert the spigot.

Did you use the bottling cane on the end of your siphon hose or a clamp? Makes a big difference

I used a bottling cane. There must have been some back pressure because the hose forced itself off of the bottling cane, resulting in unfermented beer spraying all over. Is a clamp the better choice?

The cane works better. There really is no pressure. I guess it depends on the hose bit it should fit in there pretty tight.

I use 3/8" inside diameter tubing to attach the bottling wand to the bucket spigot without any problems. I recently switched to 5/16" ID tubing for my siphon. Hard to get on the racking cane. Have to hold both under hot water to get it on far enough that it won’t pop itself off. Figure with the force it takes the racking cane will eventually be broken putting sharp glass into my hand. I’m going back to 3/8" ID for the siphon. Never had any problems with bubbles forming anyway. I guess I fixed a problem that didn’t exist.