Mash Thickness

Hey all. I’m fairly new at all grain brewing. I’ve done a few batches with mixed results, not following any specific recipes.

I’m going to try to make my first clone beer and have a question on the “Mash guidelines” in the recipes. This is for a 5.5 gallon recipe with 16.8 lbs of grain. It says 3.5 gallons, Infusion, 75 Min…but under that it says Starting Mash thickness is 1.5 qt/lb.

I’m confused by the Starting mash thickness and Gallons…1.5 qt/lb would be equivalent to 6.3 gallons. Does anyone know what the 3.5 gallons is?

3.5 gallons is not enough for almost 17 lbs of grain. Also 16.8 lbs of grain for a 5gal batch seems like alot. Post the recipe and we can figure it out

Here is the link! Let me know if it doesn’t open for some reason

Ok at 70% efficiency I get it I get 80-85 so I would use less. The 3.5 is probably what’s left after the mash. What size is your tun

10 gallon. So how much water would you use during the mash?

That’s strange. I’ve never used this program so I’m not sure if it calculates it for you or if you can enter a starting amount.
At 3.5gals your mashing in at .8qts/lb which is going to be super thick.

I would target 1.25-1.5 myself. Can your MT hold that amount of grain at those volumes? If not you could get away with a little bit thicker of a mash but .8 is super thick.

There used to be a calculater I used that told you what size tun you would need. I’ll bet 17# of grain would take up 3 or 4 gallons off volume plus 6 gallons of water. Going to be tight.

Not sure I haven’t tried that much yet! Also I have an amateur question. I always seem to have soooo much wort that it takes more over 2 hours to boil it down. I’m always afraid I’m going to miss my target fg so I put a lot of extra water in. Any tips u can give me?

You can use less water and top up. Adding boil time messes with your hop additions

How do I know I got enough sugar to hit my og tho