Just sampled my first brew!

Hi all, I’m new to the home brewing process. I just sampled my first brew, Caribou Slobber. Tasted great but just a bit flat. I used the 1 gallon kit, and will probably stick to that in the future. I bottled exactly 2 weeks ago, and after reading here on the forum, sounds like a little more conditioning time is in order. I used the fizz drops, but sounds like there are better ways to go. Would be interested to hear some tips specifically for the 1 gallon kits. I just brewed the White House Honey Porter today, will see how that goes!

1 Like

Welcome aboard! Practice is your best friend… You’ll find all sorts of ideas for carbing in the bottle… Sneezles61

1 Like

Our host has a priming sugar calculator that you can use to prime the entire batch instead of each bottle separately. Plus, no worries about fizz drops dissolving or not. Like Sneezles says, practice, especially sanitizing and fermentation temp control. Those two things are of utmost importance in making good beer.
Make sure those bottles of slobber are in a warm spot (70+) and leave them for another week. Maybe give each bottle an upside down turn or two.
Welcome to your new insanity!! Haha , it’s a fun insanity though.

Cheers,

Ron

1 Like

For one gallon brews I use Flars method

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies! Been very careful with temperature control and sanitation. Pays to be a bit OCD?!! I’ll give the Slobber another week or two, and I’ll try the Flars method of using Domino Dot’s on the Porter.
Thanks all!

3 Likes

Don’t need to be OCD for this hobby… Just drink lots of your X-beer-ments… You’ll find out what does and doesnt work… Keep lotsa notes… Even tasting notes on every batch you make… Sneezles61

1 Like

Mazel Tov!!
The one thing you absolutely have to do is plan your next brew!

Wecome and congrats! Take heed of @sneezles61advice to take good notes, especially tasting notes! It’ll pay dividends.