Is there any problem using a 5 gal kit (bucket for formenting) for 1 or 3 gal recipe kit

Hello experienced brewers!
I am very new at brewing, having only done one batch. I don’t have a lot of refrigerator space to store bottled beer so I was thinking about trying a 1 gal recipe in my 5 gal kit. Of course I’ll use the correct amount of ingredients to make 1 gallon, but I was wondering if fermenting in a 5 gal bucket would/could cause a problem. The only thing I could think of is that there would be more oxygen in the fermentor but that’s about it. Does anyone know if this would work just fine?

Thanks!

Cheers,
/dave

It will work and the O2 won’t be a concern as the CO2 produced will push it out. BUT… yep there is one…

You won’t yield much finished beer in the end due to the surface area of a 5gal bucket. But there is still hope. Our host sells 2gal buckets which are perfect for what you want while still providing headspace for blowoff.

Keep in mind that your 1gal brew will net about 10 beers. That’s not much beer for the work.

Thanks for the quick reply. Oh that’s an interesting point about the surface area. Yeah 1 gal seems pretty small, … maybe I’ll change to three. In that case or in either case I’ll make sure I get a appropriately sized fermentation bucket or carboy
thanks!

I do 3 or 3.5 gallon batches in a 5 gallon bucket all the time, it works great! But as loopie says, don’t do a 1 gallon batch in one, you’ll leave far too much behind when you transfer because of the depth of the beer.

Get yourself a 5 gallon food-safe bucket at your favorite home box store, get an omega lid and a fermenting bucket lid grommet, drill a 1/2" hole in the lid, and ferment away! Cheapest fermenter with a positive seal you can get.