How Many Brews Before New Equipment Doesn't Give Off Metal Taste

I am somewhat new to brewing (8 months), but I’ve noticed that both times I’ve used new kettles (The one that came with the kit and my new Anvil Foundry) the at least the first batches have had a metal after taste. It’s not the water cause I use distilled water. Is there a way to clean or condition so that doesn’t happen? I cleaned the foundry with dish soap, then Oxi Clean then Barkeepers Friend before my first batch so it wouldn’t do that. Only thing I can think of is I didn’t clean the chiller as diligent as the kettle.

Thanks for the advice.

I don’t recall Stainless Steel ever giving of a metallic flavor… Something else is up to no good… Distilled water… nope… Weldless fittings?
You crush your own grain?
Whats your yeast strain/type?
Sneezles61

I just got a new SS Brewtech kettle and it recommends giving it an initial clean with TSP followed by rinsing. This is to remove any oils from the manufacturing process. Then it says to passivate the kettle by soaking in star san mixed 5 times the normal strength for 20-30 minutes. Hope this helps.

1 Like

The most likely candidate is Astringency.
Check out this link.

1 Like

Dont think its the kettle. More a water issue. Get a water test. See whats in the water

I think you can just drink the water to test for metallic taste. :face_with_monocle:

Overhere. For at least 6 months. The water had a metal taste. In the background. If you did drink it. So i did atach. Waterfilters. And away the taste of metal

1 Like