Home Brew Rookie with Bottling Question

I’m brand new to Home Brewing, but very excited about my new hobby! I got the Brew, Share, Enjoy Starter Kit and started brewing about 5 days ago. I’ve been reading various posts on the forum, and from what I gather NB instructions that come with the kits aren’t the greatest, so I’ve been thankful for all the information I’ve found on the forum so far. The kit instructions call for fermentation for two weeks, then bottling, and then letting the beer sit at room temperature in the bottles for two weeks before refrigerating. I’ve read elsewhere on the forum though that some folks recommend letting the beer sit in the fermenter for three weeks, and then bottling and letting it sit in the bottles for just a week before refrigeration. Is there a preferred method, or a “right” or “wrong” way to do it? The beer is Block Party Amber Ale if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance!

Let the beer sit in the fermentor until it’s ready. How do you know it’s ready? Best answer- use a hydrometer. If you get the same reading three days apart, you’re good. If you don’t have a hydrometer? Three weeks is probably safe.

Next, you didn’t ask, but priming sugar. Use a priming calculator, ideally. If I’m winging it, 1/8 cup beet/cane sugar per gallon is an average starting point. I’ve heard the 5 Oz corn sugar packet can over carb.

Let the bottles sit warm for a while. If in a warmer room, they carb faster. My beer storage is mid-sixties, and it’s never taken less than 3 weeks to carb a bottle. A trick is to use 1 plastic bottle. Fill it, squeeze the head space out, and cap. As it carbs, it will puff, and get nice and firm. That should tell you it’s ready.

Once your test bottle is nice and firm, chill a few bottles. 2 days is good enough for me…

2 Likes

That’s spot on. Can’t go by a calendar. I can tell you with the only ABSOLUTE, your beer will NOT be carbed in 1 week.