Force carbonation issues

Hi all! I’m new to brewing and seem to be having trouble with carbonating my Sanke kegs. I’ve got 3bbl system so I’m running more beer than a home brewer but still brewing on a small scale. I currently have 8 5gal Sankes of American Pale Ale force carbonating with 23 psi at 55 degrees. I took the kegs off carbonation at 5 days and moved one of them to my kegorator that’s running between 38-40 degrees. I’ve got my serving psi set at 15. My problem is the kegs have very low carbonation. Everything I’ve read seems to indicate that the carbonation should be more prevalent at 23psi for 5 days. I’ve tested all my lines for leaks and haven’t found any. Is there something I’m missing or doing wrong as a newbie?! Thanks in advance for any insight!

That’ll get you around 2.75 volumes of co2, but I think you need more than 5 days.

1 Like

I forgot say: In your kegerator at 15psi, you’re going to have some very spritzy beer in about a week. You may want to consider dropping that down a few psi.

This chart always comes in handy:

5 days at such a warm temp would get you some foam on pour but not get you completely carbonated. You need more time on gas…I agree with @voltron though. I wouldn’t leave it at 15psi for more than a few days or it will be overcarbed.

1 Like

That’s seems to be what’s happening. It appears to have carbonation or at least foam with the first pour but after pour 2 and 3 it’s flat. Any idea how many day at 55 degree it might take? Thanks to both of you for the advice on turning the kegorator psi down!!

Your best bet is about 12psi with the beer cold, refrigerator temp cold, for two weeks. It will carbonate faster cold than warm. You can crank the pressure to get it done faster like 20 or 30 pounds and even go as far as to shake or bounce the keg but I have found that method a crap shoot.

For serving I use about 10 and adjust from there.

2 Likes