First batch of cider

Hello. I am new to brewing and before moving on to all grain beer I wanted to make a batch of cider. I started it last night and just wanted to share my process so far and open it up to any advice.

So I started with 5 gallons of local cider from a health food store (Rainbow Grocery in San Francisco). It has zero additives and was cold pasteurized.

I poured it all into a large kettle, checked the OG (1.07) then heated it around 180 - 190(f) for 45 minutes.

Once it was up to temperature I added 2lbs of bakers cone sugar (because I had it around, and wanted to raise the end alcohol level a little) and let it simmer for the rest of the time.

While it was simmering I made a mixture of 1tsp of Acid Blend + 1 tsp Pectic enzyme + 1/2tsp. yeast nutrient in a cup of cool water. the Pectic Enzyme is to clear the cloudiness, and I read that the acid blend was good to make the cider a little dryer. The acid blend was suggested in a few recipes, I did not do a PH test on my water. I also read that the the yeast nutrient is usually helpful for ciders.

After 45 minutes on the heat I put the whole kettle in my sink, full of cold water. I added the little ice I had and monitored the temperature. The ice melted off pretty rapidly, and the temperature dropped down to around 135 pretty quickly. I added the cold mixture when the temperature was around 100. I continued to change out the water for about an hour and finally got it down to 73f.

I then transferred the cider to a 6 gallon carboy with a siphon. I aerated it as much as possible via the siphoning and shaking up the cider in the carboy as it filled.