During fermentation: Keep same temperature or slowly increase?

New(er) brewer here -

Most of what I’ve read says to keep the same temperature throughout fermentation. Which temperature used, depends on the yeast, ale/lager, etc.

Recently, I’ve come across people using fermentation temperature profiles where they slowly increase the fermentation temperature x degrees after n days.
Are these profiles a topic that some people swear by and other people don’t see the need for?

I have two beers now fermenting, and I’m wondering whether to keep the current temperature or follow some existing profile (which profile though, I have no idea…). My default is to keep them in fermenter for 3-4 weeks at a constant temperature, then bottle.

Saison: currently 8 days at 74 degrees. Yeast: Belle Saison.
Red Ale: currently 6 days at 65 degrees. Yeast: Safale S-04.

Thoughts or rationale one way or another, to keep same temperature or slowly increase the temperature?

Thanks!

1 Like

I’m not a proponent of raising the temperature near the end of fermentation to get the yeast to finish. Just my opinion that if the wort, yeast, and fermentation temperature were properly taken care of at the beginning, the fermentation will finish without any more help. In the case of fermentations that needed temperature control to hold the temperature down I will let the temperature of the beer free rise to ambient after a week or so. Ambient in cases like this is only a couple of degrees over the fermentation temperature.