Dare I All-Grain or stick with Extract?

Hello everyone,
This is my first post on NB’s forum. So forgive me if you’ve seen this question a million time. But I’m considering switching to all-grain brewing. I have about 20-30 batches of extract brews under my belt.
I was wondering on any pro’s and con’s you may have for me.

Thank you for your time!

The only thng I’ll tell you is that it’s a lot easier than you think it is. When I started AG, I’d read about it but never seen it. No problems. When I teach people to brew AG, it always ends with them saying “Is that all there is to it?”.

Denny’s right,when I switched I thought,why in the heck didn’t I do this sooner.

AG brewing makes it enjoyable to be out in the freezing cold temperatures during the winter.

+1 on Denny. I started brewing with a Mr. Beer kit. Once the kits were gone I dove straight into AG, so other than the MB I never really did extract. True, the extract brew day is shorter, but it almost seems like extract brewing is more complicated than AG, at least when you get into the various partial mash and steeping techniques… but like I said, I never got too far into the world of extract.

There is nothing wrong with extract brewing, so don’t feel like you need to move to AG because what you do now is inferior in some way. But for me, the end-to-end AG process feels more fulfilling. I like the opportunity to have control of every variable in the process. It gives you more tools to control the final product–for example, you can increase or decrease mash temp to affect body and fermentability. Pretty cool.

6 degrees and I agrees

I brewed with extract twice. Once with DME and once with LME. All grain was a different challenge but really easier in some ways. The reconstituting of DME and the scorching and boil over potential was a hassle. All grain has lots of spent grains to feed to your composting worms. They will thank you.