Chilling with Dry Ice?

I’m sure someone has thought of this before, but could you chill after brewing by adding dry ice to the brew tun? I can think of a few reasons why this might not be a good idea (like the brew boiling over (sublimating over?), or possible contaminates in the dry ice, or the excess CO2 driving a lot of oxygen out of the beer), but theoretically it would cool the wort quickly and not dilute the brew, since all the dry ice would evaporate as CO2.

Thoughts?

Sanitation would be an issue. Dry ice isn’t made to be in contact with food so there can be production contaminants in the ice. The dry ice may also be so cold it will freeze a capsule of wort around it which would insulate it until it slowly releases CO2. You are right that there could be an instant boil over.

Just guessing. Never used it except to burn a finger many years ago.

1 Like

It’s not sanitary and it’s hard to gauge how much to use.

1 Like

Hmmm…I figured it was probably a no-go. I work in a lab where we use dry ice in methanol to freeze stuff quickly, and it made me wonder about brewing. The immersion chiller I have works fine, I was just curious.

Thanks for the replies!