Caribou Slobber secondary fermentation smell

This is my first attempt at brewing. I did the caribou slobber. Moved to secondary fermenter after 8 days in primary. Fermentation appeared done but I didn’t have a gravity test kit at the time. It’s been in the secondary for several days. I noticed it has a strong alcohol, sweet fruity smell. Is this normal, or did I rush the time in the primary?

What temperature did you ferment at?

About 66 degrees.

You may have fermented this beer at to high of temperature for the yeast used. This is just from your description of strong alcohol aroma and fruity smell. Was 66° the temperature of the fermenting beer from the start or the ambient room temperature? If it was 66° ambient then your fermentation temperature was probably 3° to 5° higher. Fusel alcohols are produced at high fermentation temperatures. Fusel alcohols have a very strong bite on the nose though. Your fermentation may not have produced any fusels.

The yeasts offered by NB for the Caribou Slobber will produce fruity flavors at the higher end of their fermentation range. Which yeast did you use?

Eight days in the primary is fairly short. Even if fermentation had been done the cleanup of by products may not have been achieved. Two weeks in the primary is short for my beers. I typically go at least three weeks.

Plan to leave this one in the primary for at least a couple of weeks to see what happens. Take a SG reading as soon as possible, and then another a few days later.

Right now you have a very green beer. Some age in the secondary may change what you are sensing. Keep us posted on how this beer is coming along.

66 degrees was the reading on the fermometer. I used dry danstar Windsor ale yeast. Should I add additional yeast to the secondary?