Carbonation epiphany

Have to say that I’ve been brewing for over six years and feel kind of rediculous, maybe a little embarrassed, for not thinking of this much sooner, lIke as in before i evendors carboated my first batch. As a scientist with a good amount of chemistry in my background, this should have become apparent. Anyone seeing any problems with the following logic?

I for some reason always thought to get the carbonation level I entered the Vol of CO2 desired and the temp of the beer while carbonating. It now makes sense to me that x grams of sugar will yield y grams of CO2 regardless of temperature. The difference in how much gets absorbed will depend on storage temperature. Meaning ify fridge is 46 degrees I should use that number in my calculations. It all makes sense now. It also explains a lot on why I had problems keeping carbonation in my keg that had no temperature. I feel rediculous that it took so long to figure that out but it seems clear as day now.

Guess I should think about returning that degree :wink:

Almost, but not quite…

The temperature is needed to estimate the amount of CO2 that is already dissolved in the beer. At the end of active fermentation, the beer is pretty much saturated with CO2. As I’m sure you know, the amount of CO2 that can be held in solution is a function of temperature and pressure. This is all at atmospheric pressure, so take that out of the equation. The hotter the beer, the less CO2 in solution, and the colder the more CO2 in solution.

The problem is that by the time CO2 is no longer being produced (i.e., the end of active fermentation), the hottest temperature the beer hits will determine the maximum amount of CO2 that will be dissolved. Cooling it down does not dissolve more CO2, as there is not any more CO2 being produced.