Can I use the No-Rinse Cleaner in my Brew Kit to sanitize bottles?

First of all, if you can’t tell by my question, this is my first time home brewing. I feel really nervous about bottling right now. I received a bunch of bottles from a friend whose been storing them for a while in his garage. A couple of days ago I cleaned the labels off and rinsed the outside and used the bottle brush to clean the inside. However, I do not have Star San or a Vinator or a fancy bottle rack or any other special equipment. The only sanitizer I have is the No-Rinse Cleaner that came with my brew kit. Can I just dunk the bottles in a bucket of the cleaner and set them upside down in the dishwasher for a while until they dry?

Yours truly,

Any instructions with the cleaner? Hard to know if it is actually for cleaning or sanitizing, which are two different things.

Yes. I believe you would use it just prior to bottling, dunk the bottles drain and bottle away.

They key word you’re looking for is sanitizer. What do the instructions on the No Rinse Cleaner say? Is it a sanitizer as well?

Personally I am a fan of Star San. You don’t need a Vinator. I make sure they’re clean, dunk them or pour a little sanitizer into them, shake them to make sure all the inside was coated, and put them upside down to drain.

As far as I know this is sanitizer. This is what came with the kit for sanitizing all the equipment. It should work, but it does have a mild bleach smell that I worry could mess with the flavor of the beer.

This is from the starter kit, I think it’s both.

Go ahead and use it, but I agree StarSan is the bomb. Love that stuff. PBW for all other cleaning.

Love starsan. And pdw powder. Me never bottle. But once a while have to to bring. Some to work. Clean bottle with water dilute with bleach. Rinse. Than pdw clean and rinse. Last thing. Starsan. Clean. As well the bottle cap. My kegs. Clean with. Pdw and starsan

1 Like