Building a Kegerator Advice

Hello Guys

So I am really new to home brewing and have only ever brewed 1 Gal on the stove top using a 1 gal Demi John for fermentation.

Apologies if my questions are rudimentary :slight_smile:

I have bought some new equipment recently a GRAINFATHER and an SS Brewtech conical fermenter

I am looking to build a Kegerator and I have an existing counter I want to fit the fridge under.

However what Iā€™m trying to fathom out is does my tap tower need to be attached to the top of the fridge or can I run the lines from a hole in the top of the fridge to the underside of the counter top and into taps that are fixed to the counter top ?

If I do this how do I stop the fridge becoming inefficient how do I run the lines to the underside of the counter top and ensure the hole on top of the fridge is ā€œsealedā€

Hop this makes sense

Thanks

Welcome to NB forum!
Well, thatā€™s very tricky indeedā€¦ It can be as simple as just like you stated ā€¦ hole through the top (premade?, if notā€¦ refrigeration lines to be concerned about) then through the counter topā€¦ You can carefully seal up the hole in the kegerator with foam or pipe insulationā€¦ But then there is line left from there to the tapper not chilledā€¦ Un-wanted bugs will grow there and you may not like the flavorā€¦
Tell us whatā€™s your kegeratorā€¦ Made for that or are you going to make it be oneā€¦?
Sneezles61

Hi there thanks for the response

So I am planning on making the kegerator and the distance from the top of the fridge to the bottom of the tap tower/underside of the counter top would be no more than literally about 5 cms to 10 cms

What do you reckon ?

That short of run should be no problem. Pipe insulation and silicone. I actually just duct taped mine because itā€™s easier to change lines when that time comes. Welcome

1 Like