Bottling Question- How screwed am I?

I am fairly new to this. I have completed about 6 extract brews and I just made a pretty dumb mistake. I just got ready to bottle my latest batch. I put the priming solution in the bottling bucket and was just about done siphoning the beer to the bottling bucket when I realized I threw away my bottle capper when we moved because it rusted in storage. So now I have the beer in the bottling bucket with the priming solution and the HB store is closed. So i cleaned and sanitized the lid, stopper and airlock from the primary fermenting bucket and sealed up the bottling bucket.

I won’t be able to get to the home-brew store until tomorrow afternoon. How screwed am I if I can’t bottle this for 24-36 hours after mixing with priming solution? When I can bottle it should I add some more priming sugars to make for what is lost if it starts fermenting in the next day or so?

Oof… it’s a bit of bother, but maybe not hopeless. How carefully did you measure? Did you calculate priming sugar, or do 5 Oz corn sugar/ 5/8 cup table sugar? I’d only think about adding more sugar if you were really careful and precise. Even so, I’d probably not add much.

The yeast will probably take care of that little bit of priming sugar in 24 hours. If you go 36 hours before bottling that increases the safety factor.

I’m having second thoughts about this. A bottle that is over carbed may take multiple CO2 pressure releases over a few days. No, I’m not sure if the yeast will consume the sugar in the bottling bucket in a 24 hour period.

I just did 5 oz. of corn sugar, didn’t calculate. I did get a full 5 gallons into the bottling bucket though. So if it’s 36 hours before I can bottle you think I shouldn’t need to add more sugar?

I’m second guessing myself now… usually, that 5 Oz is a little over carbed for me. If it were 12-24 hours, I’d bottle and let it roll. But in big bulk, you might eat that sugar quickly.