Block Party Amber Ale extract fermentation

I just started my first brew this past Tuesday (5/31/2016). Recipe instructions says fermentation should cause a lot of bubbling around 48 hours and to start bottling process between 1-2 weeks.

Mine had a lot of bubbles in less than 24 hours. And around 36 hours had stopped bubbling altogether.

I don’t know if that matters and no I do not own a hydrometer (yet). My question is should I still wait the full two weeks until bottling or should I let it sit longer? I only have single fermentation set up.

Im new to brewing but Time and temp mean everything stick to the basic instructions keep your temp in the specified range You will enjoyyour First Batch

I’d be careful, you put into bottles too early you’ll git bottle bombs… I do wish the kits had an option for first timers to git a hydrometer, and to use it. Right now, you won’t figure out yer ABV, BUT, you can tell when your yeast has completed its job, and then its SAFER to bottle… Sneezles61

First off I need to know what temp you fermented, and you should let it sit at least two weeks. Three would be better. When you get a hydrometer then it will be easier to tell when fermentation is done.

1 Like

The temperature of the wort was 70F when I pitched the yeast. I haven’t taken a temperature since because I didn’t want to take the lid off of the bucket risking any type of contamination. The room it’s been in since fermenting is around the 67-70F range.

I’m letting it sit the entire two weeks, I definetly am not trying to rush it. Are there benefits to letting it ferment beyond two weeks or three?

The longer it sits in your fermenter the more yeast will settle. Of course I would limit this to no more than 4 weeks.

Is this a 1gL batch? If so, don’t waste your time with a hydrometer as you’ll essentially lose a beer. Make it, let it ferment 4 weeks, then bottle. By then it should be ready unless you had some major fermentation issues.