Beer Kit Ratings

Hello,

I did try searching the forums but I did not find any topic that matched mine.

I have been brewing for about 3 years now. I just moved into all grain all the time. I am very interested in finding all grain beer recipes that people have enjoyed. The issue with how the current ratings are captured make it more challenging to find this information.

I am not trying to offend anyone or stomp on peoples excitement for brewing. Has the topic ever been brought up for NB to give more direction on rating the beer kits? I see so many ratings that seem to be from people that have not even tried the beer yet. People seem to be rating the customer service, shipping speed, packing accuracy and other topics that don’t seem to be related to the beer kit itself.

I realize these topics are important. Nothing is worse then getting ready for a brew day and you find things missing from the kit! Maybe there is a better way to capture NB shipping and quality ratings and leave the beer kit ratings just for people that have completed (or drank) that specific kit.

Just a thought.

Griffin

1 Like

I remember it being discussed on a thread here once, but I don’t know that it’s been taken directly to NB. Ratings on all grain kits are also inherently problematic, because so much depends on system and process. This forum, though, is a great resource if you want to ask people’s thoughts on a kit. Then again, you’re probably going to get a range of guesses from people who build their own recipes rather than doing kits, and people with varying processes.

Gotta love the 5 star “bought this kit for X and they havent brewed/used yet. LOOKS nice” or the one star “arrived broke”

Was this review helpful? Absolutely not

2 Likes

I agree @uberculture. Plus, NB doesn’t actively monitor this forum (a couple months ago they had someone on here).