All-Grain / BIAB

Hey folks!

I’ve been brewing extract kits for a few years now, and I’m trying to transition to BIAB. Are any All Grain kits able to be brewed via BIAB, or are there certain adjustments I need to make? Specifically, I’m looking at purchasing the NB Pumpkin Spice Latte Stout kit, but I want to make sure the instructions provided in the All-Grain kit ould work for BIAB.

Thanks in advance!

Not sure what the directions say but the recipe is the same no matter which way you brew it. The only difference is how you mash.

3 Likes

Get any all grain kit you want then pop on the forum and we’ll answer any questions

2 Likes

Much appreciated!

I have everything I need for my first BIAB brew day except for a propane burner.

Anyone ever use a gas grill instead of a standalone propane burner? Pros/cons?

So here is my initial take on your question:

You are going to let us know how big of a batch you’re brewing. When I did my first BiaB, I used a recipe kit and it made 3 gallons. I always thought this was because a 5 gallon kit would be quite voluminous and heavy, might be tough for a standard bag. I could be wrong though, it was always my assumption.

The all grain recipe kits on northern brewer are all 5 gallons, I believe. If you are going to make a 3 gallon batch, then you’ll obviously need to scale every ingredient by 3/5. This includes all of your grains/malts, hops, etc. You can still use the same amount of yeast as normal.

If you are going to make 5 gallons, then you have no issues, just buy any all grain kit and go to town. I’ve only made 3-4 BiaB brews though, then I swapped to using a mash tun and such… So I could be all wrong here. Just my 2 ¢

I’ll be brewing the 5 gallon kit as is. I think my autocorrect switched “three” for “the”. Sorry for the confusion.

Ok so the instructions are basically the same. Here’s the very basic stuff: