Alcohol Content Help

Hello Everyone.

I’m new to NB. I ordered some stuff here this week. So I haven’t tried any of their kits yet. I’d consider myself a novice brewer, considering I don’t have alot of batches under my belt. But I was wondering if any of you experienced brewers could give me your input.

I have the Coopers Irish Stout, that makes 6 US gallons (I have only ever done 2 gallon batches before). Which is why I needed to order more equipment. :slight_smile: My ingredients include the Canned extract, 1lb. Dark Dry Malt extract, Brown Sugar and Molassas.

I would like to stay under 7 for the alcohol content. Thought maybe you experienced brewers could give me an idea on how much of each ingredient I should use to keep me below 7. This will be the first batch I’ve done with testing it with a Hydrometer. Also wondering if anyone has ever bottled re-using Aluminium bottles.

Thanks

[quote=“culchie”]Hello Everyone.

I’m new to NB. I ordered some stuff here this week. So I haven’t tried any of their kits yet. I’d consider myself a novice brewer, considering I don’t have alot of batches under my belt. But I was wondering if any of you experienced brewers could give me your input.

I have the Coopers Irish Stout, that makes 6 US gallons (I have only ever done 2 gallon batches before). Which is why I needed to order more equipment. :slight_smile: My ingredients include the Canned extract, 1lb. Dark Dry Malt extract, Brown Sugar and Molassas.

I would like to stay under 7 for the alcohol content. Thought maybe you experienced brewers could give me an idea on how much of each ingredient I should use to keep me below 7. This will be the first batch I’ve done with testing it with a Hydrometer. Also wondering if anyone has ever bottled re-using Aluminium bottles.

Thanks[/quote]