Adjust IBU

I am a newbie and have brewed several NB extracts kits. I like everything I have done so far, but I’m trying to find something my wife likes. She has been a Coors light girl and so far, everything I have done she says is “too bitter”. She wouldn’t drink the Irish Red Ale at all, she will drink the NB Mild Ale but still thinks it too bitter. I bottled a InnKeeper yesterday and hope it will suit her. I am thinking about “adjusting” (lower) the IBU lever of the Mild Ale kit or similar kit but are not sure of the best method. Would it be best to decrease the boil times of the hops or retain the recommended boil times but decrease the amount of hops added or a combination of the two. After I gain experience I plan to design a brew for her, but I’m not there yet.
Any assistance greatly appreciated.

D

Cut the 60-minute addition by 1/4 and see what she thinks. If the bittering hop is something aromatic, go ahead and add the leftover portion to the end of the boil to help offset the reduced bitterness with some extra aroma.

I would cut back all the additions just a little. The early bittering addition will give you the biggest change in IBUs.

How about a wheat beer for her? She’s moved on to liking other beers (still can’t stand IPAs, APAs or anything slightly hoppy), but my wife is the same way. She’s a huge wheat beer fan and is starting to come around on other malt forward beers like certain Belgians. I’ve been trying to find a good balance between hoppy (I like) and not hoppy (she likes) and I’m starting to realize I just can’t. I’m a hop head. She’s not. I’ve really neglected myself while trying to brew beers she’ll like. So, I have a hop bomb of an IPA that’s about to get a big dry hop of Citra and Cascade this weekend. I have a wheat right in line behind it for her, but my IPA comes first!