3 weeks and still bubbling?

I made a mead 3 weeks ago yesterday. The OG was 1.080. I used Wyeast 4783. The fermentation temp is around 72 degrees and it just keeps going. It’s slow fementation and the bubbling is slow but I have never had a fementation of my beers go so long, and I have had some pretty high OG beers. Is a long fermentation normal with Mead (this is my first) or is this indicative of a problem?

I had a mead that started out with a high gravity and it took its dear sweet time fermenting. I think I clocked my primary around a month and a half. I’m by no means an expert on mead but mine turned out fine if not a little lenghty

Update on this. OK, so I was mistaken about the OG. It was 1.090. But now I am 4 full weeks into fermentation and I checked the gravity. I am only at 1.040. It’s still slowly bubbling away. Am I still OK? Is this strange? I aerated the crap out of this before I pitched, but I did not make a starter. Was that perhaps foolish? I bet I should have made one. Would it be a good idea to get more yeast and pitch it, or should I just let it slowly do it’s thing?

I am starting to get worried now. It’s now been 10 weeks and my mead is still very cloudy, and there is still slow activity in the airlock. It just seems that a fermentation should not take this long. Hopefully I am worrying about things too much and all will be OK.

I know nothing about mead, but this is what comes to my mind:

1. Is it possible that yeast work slower in mead because honey lacks some of the nutrients provided by malted barley?

2. Is it possible that the yeast you’re using has a low alcohol tolerance?