2 mash tuns for 1 brew

Hello,

All grain noob here. I hope this a simple question… Can I use 2 - 5 gallon coolers to mash a larger amount of grains instead of buying 2 - 10 gallons coolers?

In theory, sure. Sounds like a pain to me, though. Here are my concerns:

1. Any water treatment is partly dictated by the grains in your mash. Are you sure your c60 is evenly distributed between the two tuns?

2. Runoff one cooler, add sparge water, Runoff second cooler, add sparge, Runoff first sparge, Runoff second sparge, stop when you get to preboil volume. That just sounds like a three stooges act to me.

3. More stuff to clean. I hate cleaning out one tun, so two sounds like a huge pain.

Yes you can but you can also mash your base grain s in your tun and just steep your specialty grains. If you still can’t fit it in your tun try mashing thick and double sparge. I used to do that and still got 80%

This.

I too ran into the problem of a 5G mashtun being too small for big batches. Solved the problem by using two BIAB bags in a standard rectangular cooler. That way I can still use the cooler 99% of the year and use it as a mashtun for the 2-3 large grain bill batches per year.

I’m really sorry, but I have rolled laughing at the comment. I can see Curly doing this whole procedure saying “oh!, wise guy aye?!?! nuk nuk

What would be my water to grain ration if I were to mash thick? When double sparging, do I skip the “mash out” process?

1.25 QTS/lb is probably a good guess. You could probably do up to about 12lbs in a 5. How much grain we talking? You could go thicker as long as you can get all the grain wet and mixed you will get conversion.

No, do the mash out and drain. Then just rinse through the grain to reach your target volume. Remember the grain will not absorb any more water so what you rinse with is the amount you get out. Keep your eyes out for a bigger cooler at tag sales. Any type will work. I got one without a spiggot and just drilled a hole